When do you replaster?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am a complete novice to decorating so any advice welcome. A decorator painted entire house about 4 years ago. He just painted over the existing papers but the walls look 'lumpy' in places behind the wallpaper and give a different sound when we tap the walls. Our old decorator said that the plaster was crumbling behind the paper and is best left alone and just to paint over existing wall paper as plastering expensive.

We now are redecorating only one boy's room and wondered whether we should be replastering it before decorating i.e. starting each room afresh? Just seems to me that we are covering up a problem?

Any advice welcome?

Matt

Sponsored Links
Doing up one room at a time is the best way to go, to save a lot of major disruption in the house. If the painter said a few years ago that the old plaster was crumbling, and you're now ready to do the room again,, take the paper off, and get a reputable plasterer/s in to give you some idea of the plasterwork required, and the costs involved. Get 2 or 3 quotes overall, and then it's up to you. It's often better to bite the bullet and have the whole room plastered, rather than have patches done here and there, but as i said, get quotes from each plasterer.

Do you Really want the mess - even @ one room at a time . Did that @ my last house, because my son`s a plasterer. and the walls were really too far gone . But I`ve 2 generations of decorators before me , so I`ve seen/done a bit of papering ( helping out) > My opinion is - leave it alone , just an opinion ;)

Matt.

My advice to you here will depend greatly on the condition of the walls, so if possible could you post a pic. There is a product called Wallrock Fiberliner which can hide a multitude of sins. Although more expensive than other lineing papers it is well capable of producing mind blowing results.