Why can't I get an honest quote ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I want someone to fit me a GRP roof sheet, simple enough.

So why is this so difficult to get a quote for, I have the sheet on order - to be delivered very shortly ?

I fit central heating for a living, so i guess i could be classed as a tradesman myself. So why are all the roofers I've tried so difficult to deal with ?

Is it due to lack of oxygen at the height you work at ?

Sponsored Links
In what way are they difficult - over quoting, not quoting, not turning up as arranged?

Blup

Sponsored Links
Do you add a little to the price of parts you supply to your customers?

Do you add a little to the price of parts you supply to your customers?

I usually add £10 to cover my travel to the gas spares shop and back. But other than that, no. Anyone can go online and find out how much stuff costs to work out if they are being ripped off, and I don't RIP people off.

I've just had my first 'honest' quote back tonight at £770
Two other verbal quotes this week - one at £1400 and another this morning at £2800.

So you tell me, how much do people add on for materials ?

I usually add £10 to cover my travel to the gas spares shop and back. But other than that, no. Anyone can go online and find out how much stuff costs to work out if they are being ripped off, and I don't RIP people off.

I've just had my first 'honest' quote back tonight at £770
Two other verbal quotes this week - one at £1400 and another this morning at £2800.

So you tell me, how much do people add on for materials ?
10%-30%
Glad you`ve had one "honest" quote now.

The cheapest quote doesn't go far for 2 men.
How long is it going to take?

The cheapest quote doesn't go far for 2 men.
How long is it going to take?

Yes, that's my only concern. I would imagine 2 men could do the job in a day if they are proficient in the job, but I wouldn't be surprised if it would be done in 1.5 days.