Windows, Building Regulations, which part?

So on the same note, I'm an electrician and I can choose not to comply with Part P because I wasn't told to do so by a client I'm carrying work out for?

If you are not self certifying through your Part P scheme you are free to work to whatever specification your client requests. Obviously from a legal POV you would want to ensure your work did not err towards professional negligence but this would not necessarily mean it also complied with the requirements of Part P.

It is a fact that builders do not know the entire Building Regulations inside out. That's why you have specifications and drawings produced. If builders knew the Building Regs inside out we wouldn't need Building Control etc etc etc.

As freddy notes above, No general builder will know all the BRegs inside out. If that was a realistic scenario they would self-cert their work. The aspect that makes construction so challenging is that every project is bespoke; differing environments, designs, materials, project teams, timescales. No two builds are ever the same - even on "Noddy" estates. Quality Assurance is easy in an air conditioned temperature controlled factory!!!

The approved docs are just what you say, "for guidance" and other solutions are/can be acceptable because flexibility is needed at times. I've been present at site meetings where the BCO and Architect have been at loggerheads for hours and arguments dragged on for weeks only for the BCO to back down and accept the original proposal. Anyway, I've gone off track slightly, but I'm sure you can get the situation resolved with the BCO at minimal disruption. Maybe ask him what he would find acceptable (DevilDamo has given you a few suggestions above) and then approach the builder for the remedials FOC. Try to keep things amicable Gary.

hth

Sponsored Links
That's not acceptable.