wire - resistance - amps and ohms . . .

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys - I need some advice on wiring, not for home or DIY though but regarding electrical ignition of pyrotechnics

( I am a fireworks display operator just taking up electrical firing )

I have a 12v system

The details on the ignitors are as follows -
( basically an electrically fired match head )

match head resistance = 1.6 +/- 0.3 ohms

Copper wire tails on the match head 1m long resistance = 0.17 ohms

No fire current ( max current to pass for non firing of the match head - used to test continuity ) = 0.2 amps

All fire current ( to actually fire the match head ) = 0.6 amp recommended fire current is min of 1 amp.

I am trying to figure out the best way to get maximum current from my firing system to the ignitors,

specifically I wish to fire 7 ignitors from one button push on my system.

It pushes out 12v DC

It needs to go through 50 feet of wire to get from my system to the match head - make that 100 feet as its 50 feet each way to make the circuit.

What would be the best size of wire to use ?

Am I right in thinking thicker gauge means less resistance so I can get more current using a thicker wire ?
Flexible wire is needed - not something like T&E !
Cat 5 type wire is too thin and fragile.

OR - if I found some form of multi-cored cable - would using 2 or 3 cores as one run of cable be the same as using one thicker wire ?

Electricity is not my forte !!

Sponsored Links
OK, so let's get the basics first:

I have a 12v system

match head resistance = 1.6 +/- 0.3 ohms

Copper wire tails on the match head 1m long resistance = 0.17 ohms

All fire current ( to actually fire the match head ) = 0.6 amp recommended fire current is min of 1 amp.

specifically I wish to fire 7 ignitors from one button push on my system.

It pushes out 12v DC

It needs to go through 50 feet of wire to get from my system to the match head - make that 100 feet as its 50 feet each way to make the circuit.