Wiring a stereo player into a megaphone

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there

I recently purchased this item off ebay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/152003289577?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT
I wish to wire it up to the jack plug out of a stereo player like my laptop
As you can see from the link there are 3 wires; red, black, yellow. (not the red and black 12v power wires)
I have taken the casing apart at the speaker and the 3 wires go into a circuit board, and I am unable to work out which wire dose what
Any help please in telling me which wire dose what?

Last edited:
Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
Is it actually a loudhailer with an audio input or just a 5 sound siren ? Very much doubt it can do 300dB !

It's a siren. I'm a qualified electronics engineer but even I couldn't convert it without a circuit diagram. Forget it and buy a proper amplifier and speaker system.

It's a siren. I'm a qualified electronics engineer but even I couldn't convert it without a circuit diagram. Forget it and buy a proper amplifier and speaker system.
This any good?
WIN_20160421_073029.JPG

WIN_20160421_073144.JPG

WIN_20160421_073238.JPG

WIN_20160421_073254.JPG

Sponsored Links
It looks like yellow is the feed from the volume control. Do you hear a click or buzz when you touch it with your finger (volume turned up)?

Sam
It is hard to tell, but I would say it dose crackle when I wiggle the yellow wire; So yes it dose.

So if we now know that the next question is which is live and earth?
Or should we just presume red is live and black is earth?

Thanks
AHC

I would guess the red is the +12V to the controller. Yellow will be the audio (siren) signal, and black is ground. If this is correct then you won't need the red anymore. Connect the yellow and black to your audio source.

I bough a set of cheap head phones today and cut the end off of one of them