wiring to a garage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi
Moved into a 1960's bungalow and there are many, many things wrong !!
Came home from a winter away and found no power in the garage
After checking fuses(both ends) and ringing the cable out I discovered a 2 red and 2 black core flex in rubber. you can imagine the state of it !. Crumbling and corroded, same for the distribution boards too!
anyway going to replace it all so can I use 4 mm pvc in a conduit or steel wire armoured. Garage is about 20 metres away from the house and can I bury it under soil or . . . ....
any advice would be great - I am an electrician by trade but not in the game for 10 years. Thanks in advance

Iain

Sponsored Links
I would go for the SWA method. The supply to garage has been done many times but yours is slightly different as it already exists.

As to legal bit I know one is replied to replace like for like but personally I would consider improving was a better method and I would go for improvement. As to if I would tell LABC well of course I tell the police every time I exceed the speed limit so why not ;)

Back to reality you must of course follow BS7671 not because it's required but it does mean your reasonably safe. So to start with the gauge of cable (How many mm's csa) must match the size of the supply MCB/Fuse.

What you want is if you hit with spade or have any other mishap the protective device will trip.

One of the big problems is move from fuse to MCB. The MCB has a very defined point at which the magnetic part will work. So unlike the fuse where some where near was good enough with the MCB the loop impedance is very important.

Also the earthing arrangements. It's not easy to assess if TT or the house earth is best. Even passive RCD in house or active RCD in garage.