1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Workshop Connection Advice

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by billsy, 12 Oct 2020.

  1. billsy

    billsy

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys I’m planning the electrics for my 4m x 3m workshop. I’m struggling with how to get legit power to it. I currently have an extension lead going from a socket in the garage, up over the back wall, down through the soffit and through the top of the workshop wall. Its time to do it properly so I am installing a 3-way consumer unit, 4 LED battens, 6 LED downlights and several double sockets.


    The workshop is positioned to the rear of a single garage with a gap of about 500mm between the two buildings. The garage is wired to the house consumer unit via armoured cable (6mm² I believe). The armoured cable is terminated at the front of the garage via an external junction box.

    I’m thinking: run 6mm² T&E on inside of garage from the external junction box, taking the same route as the extension lead, over the back wall, through soffit and into the workshop but add a steel conduit between the buildings. Does that sound ok? Or does it need to be armoured cable in the conduit?


    Many thanks

    Chris
     
  2. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,295
    Thanks Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does not need to be armoured, outside cable is normally black as that colour resists damage from UV rays. If you look at spec for twin and earth it does say indoors only.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. billsy

    billsy

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. So something like the NYY-J cable from TLC seems like the stuff I need.
    Do I still need the 500mm of conduit between the buildings? Or can I go straight through, Double clip at each wall and create a nice drip loop?


    Thanks again
     
    Last edited: 12 Oct 2020
  5. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,295
    Thanks Received:
    1,708
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be frank I hate conduit, so often you get water or other liquids in side and it transfers them to where not wanted, and will not allow any movement, I am a SWA man, I love the stuff, but may be because I have used so much. The cable you link to looks OK to me, but it is your design not mine.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    5,288
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    reply deleted, too far off topic
     
    Last edited: 14 Oct 2020
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page