Wylex Upgrade 30A to 45A needed or not?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I have been reading many threads here recently so decided to join to ask my troubling question.

I have recently bought a 2 bedroom flat and am refurbishing it throughout. I am not good with electrics and so i got my fuse box checked as i am installing a new kitchen.

According to the electrician, i need a fuse box upgrade if i am install a new oven and hob in the kitchen. Also i would need an extra dedicated wire running from the new fuse box to the kitchen.

Here is the picture of what i have currently..

Ok the breakdown as to how the fuses work in the flat from testing.

the 5A - Lights throughout
the 15A - No idea - guessing the hot water immersion heater.
30A - Dedicated Oven and Hob
30A - Sockets ring covering entire kitchen and living room
30A - Sockets ring covering rest of the flat ( 2 rooms + 2 bathrooms)

15A x 4 - 3 Storage heaters and may be hot water immersion heater.

Now from the above setup do you think i need to upgrade it to a newer high capacity CU to cater for newer appliances?

I am only replacing like for like appliances in the kitchen i.e oven, hob, extractor hood etc.

Plus i will be changing some ceiling lights to down spotlights with dimmers.. would this trip the 5A one?

Personally i dont think i need to upgrade but i am not sure about current legislations etc.

Please advice me..

Many thanks,

Nav

Sponsored Links
Interesting what your electrician wants to run another circuit into the kitchen, did he/she tell you what it was for? It is best practice to have the kitchen socket outlets on a dedicated circuit, but by no means essensial.
What it could be is if your new oven and/or hob is going to be of a much higher wattage than the old one.
He/she has his/her reasons, if you don't understand why, a decent spark will have no problems explaining their reasoning.