1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Yale Alarm - Loud annoying random beeping from the handset

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by ZoedM, 18 Oct 2019.

  1. ZoedM

    ZoedM

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    We have a Yale alarm that we fitted ourselves we have had it in for 2 years now without any problems but 2 days ago it started randomly beeping (this is not the fault beep as I have heard this before when batteries needed changing) This is louder and there doesn’t seem to be any pattern to it the keypad freezes and you cant do anything until the beeping stops. The fault light is not lit and there is nothing on the fault log has anyone got any ideas of how to stop the beeping as it is very irritating.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,840
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    you're going to have to tell us what model it is. A photo of this handset would be useful.

    How old is the battery?
     
  4. LindehLeeds

    LindehLeeds

    Joined:
    8 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, can you please tell me whether your issue was rectified. My alarm, HSA6000 series, started beeping irratically yesterday and after a couple of hours of pulling my hair out, it returned to normal. Everything was fine today until about 8:00pm, then it started again, beeping constantly but there is nothing showing on the fault log. The keypad also froze for a short while. Any advice would be appreciated.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Edddddddd

    Edddddddd

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi LindehLeeds,
    Do you have any updates? ours has started doing the same???? the only thing that seems to shut ours up for a short period (currently on a few hours and counting) is holding the backup key down for a long time. I know this isn't a fix but I was wondering if you had any luck?
     
  6. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,840
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    None of the posters is willing to say what model they have or provide a photo.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Edddddddd

    Edddddddd

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi JohnD! it's the HSA6400 panel.jpg


    I have an HSA6400 Alarm system and we recently have been having an intermittent issue with the control panel.

    I have recently replaced all the PIR sensors with new alkaline batteries, as they were required. I was able to do this and clear the fault codes, as the control panel was responsive. But the control panel again is randomly beeping and lighting up but is not responding to any button presses, and there is no fault showing (no amber light). I have checked that none of the buttons are stuck down, as the panel has been unresponsive before because of this.

    We haven’t recently had a smart meter fitted/don’t have one and it has been in the same place for two years.

    When we have been able to use the alarm, the low battery warning beeps haven’t been heard from the siren.

    cheers
     
  9. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,840
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    If you can, view the fault log and note any entries before clearing them. It might bleep if the power supply or the phone line go dead.

    If there is nothing on the fault log and the buttons stop working, it looks like a panel fault. Do you know how old the internal standby battery is? Are you using a genuine Yale power supply unit?

    You could take the panel off the wall (it will go into Tamper alarm) and put it in another part of the house, just in case there is an electronic device such as an internet wifi router or a phone interfering with it. I have never experienced that, with a number of Yales, but it is presumably possible.

    You could also factory-reset the panel. Have you got the instructions? you will have to re-learn all the components afterwards.

    You can buy an official replacement battery, but I've used one intended for radio-controlled model cars, because it was cheaper and had greater capacity. I had to make up a new connector though. I have not experienced the symptoms you describe from a poor battery, though.

    Replacement HSA6400 panels are in great demand second hand because they can be used to upgrade the lower models of HSA alarm, and the dial-out phone capability is the key advantage.
     
  10. Edddddddd

    Edddddddd

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    JohnD you are a saint.

    OK will record all the faults in the future.

    I agree it does sound like a panel issue. The internal standby battery will be 2years old, is this time for a replacement? and it is the power supply that came with the Yale alarm system bought from the Yale website.

    I will do as suggested and (I will try to remember) post back my results for others.

    I have the instructions so I could do a full reset. I see there is a soft reset? do you think this could help?

    appreciate all the help and have a good evening.

    cheers
     
  11. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    63,840
    Thanks Received:
    3,375
    Location:
    Gosport
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Move the panel first as the simplest, quickest, cost-free option.

    If not, I'd give the reset a try.

    From memory, you have to press certain keys a certain number of times, but I haven't done it recently.

    The battery I think is NiMH so should last several years. I think the one I had to change might have been around ten years old, so I'd be surpised if yours is unserviceable. it gave a shorter than usual standby time during power cuts.
     
  12. Neil a

    Neil a

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2016
    Messages:
    286
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Replace system a lot of people seem to have problems with Yale (maybe why a lot on ebay ) get a more reliable system 2yrs isn’t long
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page