Yes, yet another Nest!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I recently bought a Nest 3rd Gen and decided to install myself. I'm an Engineer, so thought that it would be a piece of cake (I'm not a heating engineer or an electrician though!)

Attached is a pic of my Honeywell ST699 as it was (working perfectly)
Attached is a pic of my Nest Heat Link as it is (not working perfectly)

I have a Y-Plan System with a Honeywell 42002116 wiring centre, handling the pump, room thermostat, tank thermostat, Mid Position Valve and boiler.

I had 2 cables going into the ST699, one from a fused spur (which also powers the wiring centre), and one coming back from the wiring centre. I have put the L, N & E from the spur into L, N & E in the Heat Link. I have then put jumper cables from L in the Heat Link to 2 and 5 Common in the Heat Link . I then transferred the 3 core cable coming from the wiring centre into the Heat Link as below:

I transferred L from terminal 3 Heating NO - terminal 3 Heating Call-for-heat
I transferred N from terminal 6 Hot Water NO - terminal 6 Hot Water Call-for-heat
Finally, the Earth (which had red tape wrapped around it???), which is going to terminal 7 Hot Water NC on the ST699, I transferred to terminal 4 Hot Water Satisfied on the Heat Link.

Everything appeared to fire up OK, but the boiler constantly fires up an then shuts down after a couple of minutes, despite the Nest Thermostat still calling for heat. It's as if the boiler is responding to the tank thermostat (no hot water is being consumed, so the tank is almost at the desired 70C all the time)

I decided to remove the 'Earth' cable from terminal 4 in the Heat Link , to see if it made any difference, but it's still the same.

As you'll see, the 'Earth' cable is currently in a Wago block below the Heat Link.