Independent advice on certification software

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am an NICEIC approved contractor and i have always preferred hand writing my own certificates however i am very computer literate and i am certifying work so much more now i really need to move to software versions, can you please give me independent advice on whats the best software to use, thank you

Paul Jason Electrical

Sponsored Links
I'm sure that the mighty NICEIC have a preferred software package that they will sell to you at silly money? :mrgreen:

But some questions first.

What/how do you want to use this software?

Will you input the values in the field? On what device? laptop, tablet, IOS/Android Windows, etc
Or at home on what device/OS?

Never found any that was any use.

They are a combinations of
- ridiculously expensive
- so cumbersome to use it is quicker to write certs by hand
- requiring MS Office to be installed to actually work
- can only be installed on 1 device due to silly licence/activation restrictions
- can't print onto plain paper, meaning you still have to buy pre printed certificates
- containing certificates which are poorly designed or missing some types, e.g. only having a 3 signature EIC which is useless for most domestic works.

I used Excel and mainly to let it work out the pass/fail limits as so easy to make a slip up which means it fails on paper but in fact is OK.

This happened to my son. Change in paperwork not reading correct he had been filling the sheets in for so long did about 6 houses before he noticed his error.

He had intended to tell his boss but forgot. Left the fire 6 months latter and when binning old paperwork realised never corrected. Seems not only had he not noticed neither did his firm, or the scheme provider, or the LABC. However these documents will be lodged with the LABC and in 5 years time some one could realise they did not pass. Even though no real fault with house.