Heating wont turn off

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
History:
Open vented Y plan system originally had a problem where CH could not be obtained. Doing the CH two wire test on the 3 port valve, showed that this was at fault. Replaced the 3 port valve with a Honeywell 4073 one at the weekend. I am an electronics tech, and also took a photo of the wiring before I swapped the valve over - I swapped one wire at a time and am confident I have not introduced a wiring problem.

The situation now is that on some occasions the CH is not tripping off. Even turning everything off at the programmer does not stop the pump/boiler running. I started to fault find but didnt get very far. What I noticed was that with the fault condition present, and the 3 port valve full over to supply CH (which I think would be the normal place for it to be if just CH had been called and was then satisfied), the orange wire was not live - so presumably the cylinder stat was feeding a live to the pump and boiler. Sometimes (but not always) switching the heating off at the programmer can switch the CH off, but the symptoms are not yet forming a reliable pattern. I should add that the boiler does trip itself out from time to time, presumably when it is internally at it max temperature, but then fires up when it cools a bit.

Any ideas please chaps. Which components can I rule in or out. What simple checks can I do.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
First thing to do is get a wiring diagram for your particular boiler and valve(s), and verify that it is all wired up as should.

from No 17 in the FAQ

"CH Only Test (Port A open)

Turn Power OFF at main connection for the system (turning CH and HW OFF at programmer is not sufficient) This resets the valve to rest position
Disconnect white valve wire from terminal T5 and grey wire from terminal T7.
Connect white and grey wires to permanent Live (T1)
Turn Power ON