How? Drayton RF1 wireless thermostat to replace a wired one.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm new to this and wondered if someone can help. I have bought a Drayton RF1 wireless thermostat and tried to replace the wired one but I don't know what I'm doing.
This is what I know so far. The existing one has 3 wires connected - Neutral pin 1, Live pin 2 and a yellow cable to pin3. I have used a multimeter to find out that when the stat operates it makes pin 3 to 240V Live. This then connects to the valve which activates the C/H radiators. I plugged the RF1 wireless into the same backplate for same connections but the heating doesn't come on even though thermostat demands heat. I measured the voltage from the RF1 and found that pin 3 is about 30 to 50v AC relative to Live and Neutral but and this doesn't change whether the RF1 is on or off.
The thing I notice is that the instructions say it's a SPDT (voltage free) relay switch - what does this mean? Maybe I have the wrong stat for my system but I thought that if I replace with same name then it would be easy.
Any help appreciated.
Pete

Sponsored Links
I am sure that the RF1 will work if correctly connected.

I dont encourage people to do anything that they dont fully understand.

However if you just say what make and model of boiler you have then I expect someone else has time to explain it all simply to you.

Tony

I've just read an old post by 'croydoncorgi' who said about replacing a 3-wire room stat with a Drayton RF1 receiver (which has 4 connections) so could this be my problem and if so what do I connect where to get it working?
How can something so simple be so hard?

Sponsored Links
Simply the receiver has a mains live and neutral to provide its power and two volts free contacts to provide the switching.

It cannot be much simpler!

John is still around!

Tony

I plugged the RF1 wireless into the same backplate for same connections
You can't do that you need a permanent live!