1 Damp spot and one "salty spot"

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

So you know, I am a complete novice in this area...

We have noticed a damp spot on the bedroom wall right next to the window. It stretches from about 1 metre to about 1.5 metres and from looking through the forum this height suggests rising damp. The wall is papered and the paper is lifting slightly. This is the only spot in the bedroom.

The 2nd spot is in the lounge room and it sort of looks like a growth of salt which rubbed away to expose what looks like pinkish coloured masonary (or is that plaster?). This is under a window just about the skirting board. The wall was painted.

So is all of this pointing to a large rising damp problem, two smaller problems, competely unrelated to each other.... Any suggestions would be much appreciated before I call in the "professionals".

Cheers
Stephen

Sponsored Links
smullaney said:
looking through the forum this height suggests rising damp.

i would suggest you read the forums again, there is no such thing as rising damp (apart from a tv prog) and if you can PROVE you have RD there is a council that will pay you £££££££ for it

I only know this becasue i read the forums

What sort of a building do you live in. please give as much detail as possible ie one, two storey, flat roof, pitched, brickwork walls, rendered, age of building etc etc.

Sponsored Links
Rising damp does not rise up to first floor level if you do have it. It only rises about a metre max. The Lounge problem could be rising damp, but if you've got damp in a bedroom (is it the same external wall) then it could be water seeping through the wall. How old is your house? In other words do you have a cavity wall or a solid stone wall.

Well I read the forums and the general opinion as far as I can tell is rising damp does exist ;)