17th Edition

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm not an electrician which is why I've always employed competent guys.

In Feb 2009 I asked a company to come a do an inspection at my domestic property. The guy sorted out the consumer unit before the inspection (as it had a number of additions in the previous couple of years.....Shower, Bathroom heater, Electric oven, hob etc)....he also on my request put the Kitchen extension sockets on a seperate circuit.
He then gave me a satisfactory Inspection with a recommended re inspection in 5 years. He did say to me that there were certain items that didn't comply with the 17th edition but "then if he was to do an inspection on any of the propertys local to me that would be the same but my installation is safe".................I was happy with this.

I have a contract with British Gas including Electrics and the 2 pole switch for the Shower needed replacing which they did, however I did ask them to check the cable feed into the top of the shower and thus he therefore made comment on the shower circuit and issued a "Notification Your Electrical appliance and /or Installation Not to Current Standards or At Risk"

The BG man has not "crossed out" that which doesn't apply but I'm guessing (& I know I shouldn't have to guess) he means not to current standards.

He has mentioned "Fuseboard not to 17th Regs".

Does this mean the installation / shower circuit is unsafe ?
Does this mean I'm breaking any law ?

Why I ask is that as I say above the guy who did me the 5 year interval inspection (& the paperwork does say it was caqrried out under the 17th amendment) said it was Safe ...& I have looked he did test/inspect the Shower Circuit & no changes what so ever has been done since then (other than of course replacement of the pole switch).

The BG guy that came was happy with the installation as far as he was replacing the Pole switch..............it was me who asked for a quick inspection before he left.

Thanks

Paul