1st House needs improving - What order would you do it in?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello I have just bought a detached period cottage, constructed in 1850. It's been vacant for 2 years and is in a poor state. It has a damp problem, uses oil as its off the gas grid (though it hasn't been used or serviced for 2 years), has poor electrics and plumbing.

I am looking at possibly having a wall knocked though to join the kitchen and the dining room and also have installed a ground source heat pump as an alternative to the oil heating that is currently present.

The order that I plan to do this in, is as follows;

1)Have checked whether knocking a wall down is possible, and do this if it is.

2)Damp proof the house.

3)Have Ground Source Heat pump installed

4)Fix electric wiring and sockets.

5)Fix the plumbing

Is this the order that you would do it in? I'm a complete novice.

Sponsored Links
That is a fair plan,
*Plan for any structural work required.
*Apply for any building control notices or planning needed
*Knock off/Knock down, plaster/brick/block
*Consider insulation or soundproofing of walls
*Build up any required internal pilars/walls
*Bring in the services installers for first fix (plumbers/electricians/heating engineers/data engineers) to make provisions for pipework, ventilation ducts, electrical cable, data cable etc...
*Insulate loft
*Plasterboard/render/finish walls
*Paint/decorate, second fix of services (these two can be done either way, but on occasion it is sometimes wise to decorate first and on others have second fix done of even have first coats of paint prior to second fix)
*Any snagging
*Remember to ask for any documents/certificates that should be issued relating to any building work and installation of services.
*Put the kettle on and get the biscuits out, feet up!