2 gang socket patresse

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have just bought a Victorian house and the ring mains are inadequate, I think they were last updated in the 1980s. So I need to replace them.

As I'm not a qualified Electrician, (although I used to be an Electrical Engineer), what I do is run the cables then get an Electrician in to wire up the Consumer Unit, test the circuitry and issue a Safety Cert.

What I have is lime plastered walls with plaster from about 15mm up to 25mm thickness, as I'm not keen on cutting out brick to make room for 25mm patresses, I'm wondering if there's a spacer or bezel out there that will fit around the patresse so I don't need to make 25mm deep recesses for the points I want to instal.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
it depends how sound your plaster is, and how hard your bricks are, but consider hiring a box sinker. I've been OK with soft London yellow stocks, but the internal brickwork may include seconds and overburned bricks, which can be very hard. Stone can be approximately impossible.

http://www.screwfix.com/p/armeg-ebs-double-box-sinker/64983

and an SDS+ drill with rotostop.

You need to agree the division of responsibilities with the electrician who will certify the installation BEFORE you start work.

BTW they are backboxes, not pattresses, which are different.

Sponsored Links
TTC, looking at the attached video, the Schneider accessories look very slim and might allow the OP to use a shallower box. I haven't seen that optional LED indicator before.

What I have is lime plastered walls with plaster from about 15mm up to 25mm thickness, as I'm not keen on cutting out brick to make room for 25mm patresses, I'm wondering if there's a spacer or bezel out there that will fit around the patresse so I don't need to make 25mm deep recesses for the points I want to instal.