Is this ok for moving a kitchen switch panel and double socket?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’ll be fitting a new kitchen soon and my hob will be moving. The new location for the hob will be underneath my current 3 gang kitchen switch panel (Washing Machine, Dishwasher, Fridge Freezer) and too close to a current double gang (pictured) so both will need moving about 700mm to the right.

The are on an outside wall so will need channeling out I assume but the wall will be tiled afterwards.

I was going to use Wago 221 connectors to connect the extra length of cable in the back box and channel it to a new box and socket etc. but would appreciate some advice on the best way of doing this job.
365B2744-2F87-4260-8AB5-094C9ED14C74.jpeg

I should state I’m not a qualified electrician but I’m confident and competent enough to do this. I just want to make sure it’s done correctly.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
As you are fitting a new kitchen,

start again; putting the accessories in their optimum locations and rewire so there are no hidden connections.

As you are fitting a new kitchen,

start again; putting the accessories in their optimum locations and rewire so there are no hidden connections.

I did consider that, but as it’s only going less than a couple of feet I thought it would be less work than a rewire?

Perhaps, but the purpose of a new kitchen is not to cause as little work as possible.

That would be NOT having a new kitchen. :)

Sponsored Links
I think the problems are safe zones of cables.

If you plaster over the old locations you don’t know where the vertical cable drops are when you have a drill in your hand.

Using blank covers would resolve this

I think the problems are safe zones of cables.

If you plaster over the old locations you don’t know where the vertical cable drops are when you have a drill in your hand.

Using blank covers would resolve this