2 way light sockets - help if poss....

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys.

First of all, I'm no expert!!

I have decided to replace my white light wall sockets with some rather nice brushed steel ones. Simple enough job you would think to swap them over, but this has got me stumped!! I took notes of the positions on the rear of the old sockets (which wires went where) before I removed them.

There are two twin sockets which operate a) stair lights, b) ceiling light and c) wall light, there is also a single socket at the top of the stairs which is linked in. The first socket controls a and b and the second socket b and c.

The old sockets have L1, L2 and COM marked on the back and is split two way (I know the standard colour circuits for lights L1 etc), the rear of the new sockets is marked L1, L2 and L3, but the two way diagonal split is the opposite way to the old switch (i.e / and not \ if you know what I mean).

I have tried every combination that would make sense and can still not get these new switches to work properly... I currently have them so that you can switch each light on but you can only turn it off at the same switch. (e.g you cannot switch the stair lights on downstairs and switch them off upstairs). I also noticed that on one of the switches ther ewere blue and yellow ogether and black and blue together on the original sockets which worked fine...(?)

This is really frustrating, I could call in an electrician to sort it, but it p's me off as I know I'm almost there.

If anyone can make sense of all this can they help? I've looked at wiring diagrams off the net but they are limited...

Thanks,

Koomey

Sponsored Links
koomey said:
Hi guys.

First of all, I'm no expert!!