2 x 75mm Rafters bolted together loft conversion?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, after some advice.

My loft currently has 2x3 afters (75mm x 50mm). Can these be doubled up with another 2x3 bolted and glued to it to give the required 150mm depth to allow for the 120mm rigid insulation?

Im in the process of re-doing my loft plans as the structural engineer has been a nightmare to get original plans done so trying to find solutions myself which he can then calculate for me.

Sponsored Links
Don't see why not in principle, if appropriately fixed, but I'm not a structural engineer. Maybe placing 6 x 2 or whatever alongside the existing or even running 3 x 2 at right angles which might also spread the loading.

Blup.

If you did that I would also add a sister 6x1 to the side to tie it all together.Though best to simply replace rafters .

If i was to bolt and glue the two peoces together, whats a strong wood glue you would recommend thats low toxicity?

Sponsored Links
Maybe placing 6 x 2 or whatever alongside the existing or even running 3 x 2 at right angles which might also spread the loading.
It's quite normal to cross batten in this sort of situation, i.e. go at right angles to the existing ceiling joists.