240v to 12v transformer lighting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi guys i am new to wiring downlights as i work with 240v.

but i am wiring downlights in my bedroom which require to be transformed down to 12v. there are 4 lights in total.

they are 20w bulbs., so i am told i eed a transformer for each light.

how would i go around wiring it, am i right in sayen i would

take a feed from supply and put it in to light swtich, and take 4 switch wires from the light swtich to each transformer, then link the transformer to the seperate downlighters?

any advice from would be appreciated guys.

Sponsored Links
Dont you already have a lightswitch? All the switch wiring should already be in place?

Just treat each light point as a 240v, and then stick a tranny before the downlight.....

yes steve but i didnt know where to place them. so is this correct.

consumer unit - light swithch - tranny - downlight - tranny - downlight - tranny downlight - tranny - downlight

in series

Sponsored Links
You could get a 100VA transformer that would be big enough to deal with your 80w load. Just connect the live and neutral to the tranny input, then 4 seperate supplies to your lights from the tranny output.

yes steve but i didnt know where to place them. so is this correct.

consumer unit - light swithch - tranny - downlight - tranny - downlight - tranny downlight - tranny - downlight

in series
Do you know how light circuits work?

And no, not in series. :rolleyes:

Do as Briwire suggested. Wire conventionaly, and put a seperate tranny before each fitting. You could have all feed outs coming from one easily accessable j.b, or run them as a simple mini-radial circuit like any conventional lighting system, with your switch cable coming off your first j.b.

You could get a 100VA transformer that would be big enough to deal with your 80w load. Just connect the live and neutral to the tranny input, then 4 seperate supplies to your lights from the tranny output.