3 port valve question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello.

I'm a central heating beginner (but a generally competent DIY-er). I need to replace this which doesn't work but I cant find the exact replacement in Screwfix. This item http://www.screwfix.com/prods/30424...g-Controls/Danfoss-HS3-3-Port-Motorised-Valve looks physically similar and has the same sticker on the side, but the one I'm replacing is a Potterton. Can anyone tell me if this one will replace it, and will I be able to just change the top bit and leave the pipe work alone to save me draining the system?

Ta for any help
Steve

Sponsored Links
That one will replace it, go nuts!

Depends why its not working as to whether its viable to only change the motor head or not. does the spindle on the valve move freely?

dont be so lazy!! drain down replace the whole valve and use the opportunity to fill up with some fresh inhibitor.

does the spindle on the valve move freely?

Not sure (its at a house elsewhere), but I will check that if I choose the the quick option.

Although roguetrader has maybe made me feel guilty enough to drain it. But then I'll have to be back asking about refilling and getting airlocks out!

It is at least 20 years that I know since it was drained and inhibited. The water is a bit black but nothing horrible (in my random opinion!). Although a little used rad did need flushing once as it got silted up...

If I do drain it, should I put some cleaner in it first, and how long would I leave it in for? Is this the right stuff? http://www.screwfix.com/prods/84838/Plumbing/Central-Heating-Treatment/No-Nonsense-Cleaner-1Ltr

Ta for the help!

Sponsored Links
dont be so lazy!! drain down replace the whole valve and use the opportunity to fill up with some fresh inhibitor.

Drain down :eek:

You have too much time on your hands :LOL:

Bungs...bish...bash...bosh. and on to the next one ;)