1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

3 way wireless lighting control ?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Bargain Bucket, 10 Jul 2021.

  1. Bargain Bucket

    Bargain Bucket

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all. Hoping there is a solution out there for me. We currently have 2 way lighting in our lobby and I need to convert it to 3 way. Access to existing cable runs is extremely difficult without significant damage to floors and ceilings so I'd rather not do that. I do have good access to the feed wire and switch wire to the light. What I'm hoping exists is battery powered switches that I can locate in 3 separate areas, which will act as 3 way switching. Does such a product exist? I've searched the web and not found anything obvious so thought I'd ask here. Or perhaps someone has an idea of how I might convert a 2 way to a 3 way without having to add in an intermediate and run cables to the 3rd switch (seems highly unlikely).

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. RandomGrinch

    RandomGrinch

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    766
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    South Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've used LightwaveRF (search on amazon).
    Very pricey at the moment, but the battery switches worked perfectly for me and the battery lasted a good while.
    There are very cheap alternatives on ebay, but beware quality and UK suitability!
    A search for 'wirelss smart light switch' should get some results.
    Good luck.
     
    Last edited: 10 Jul 2021
  4. BS3036

    BS3036

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,601
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I also recommend Lightwave RF equipment Website https://lightwaverf.com/

    Equipment I installed for neighbours of mine 12 years ago ( when they were JSJS Designs ) is still working trouble free.

    Agreed they are expensive but you are getting well designed items manufactured to a high standard.
     
  6. markyd1

    markyd1

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quinetic
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Bargain Bucket

    Bargain Bucket

    Joined:
    16 Nov 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great info. Thank you all very much.
     
  8. crystal ball

    crystal ball

    Joined:
    28 Apr 2004
    Messages:
    5,278
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Quinetic does not require batteries, but both good systems
     
  9. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would imagine you need all 3 switches to be the new type, so its not going to be cheap.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,601
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is going to be three wireless switches then they will all need to "speak" and understand the same data language.
     
  12. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, all will need to be the same and compatable with the controller
     
  13. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,303
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am not sure what you are after, a two way switch allows one to switch either one light or another light, however the same switch as a pair can also allow one light to be controlled by two switches, we can add more switches called intermediate to have more than two switches, but this is not three way switching, it is still two way.

    But you could have a three way switch lighting three lights, busy, vacant, knock for example, I assume you want multi-switches for one set of lights?

    I used Energenie MiHome, not impressed, they can be hard wired, use a remote, or phone, or PC. But Lidi have been doing Zegbee smart switches which do seem to work out cheaper. I got a three lamp unit with GU10 lamps and a remote control. The remote will work with any of their smart bulbs, so it works a wall light and a bedside lamp in my wife's bedroom, and the GU10 lamps it came with just use the phone to control them.

    The lidi remote has a plate that can be screwed to wall, and it is magnetic so the switch then sits in the plate like a light switch, but can also be removed to use as a remote. It has worked well for me.

    The Energenie MiHome however also worked well when first installed around 4 years ago, homebase were selling them off very cheap so I got a load more Mihome-used.jpg and to start with seemed to work well, however Nest removed support so the TRV heads no longer connect to Nest Gen 3 thermostat, and of the 5 light switches only 2 still working, and also a socket has gone faulty, this has taken 4 years, but when the lights decide to flash on/off/on/off you have to turn off power to return to normal switch, and find a normal switch, which was a real pain.

    So now using plug in adaptors, at least if it goes wrong easy to unplug. So gone off Smart light switches and sockets built in, now use type I can unplug if it goes wrong.
     
  14. BS3036

    BS3036

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    913
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    huh? I think that's a 2 gang switch.
     
  15. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,133
    Thanks Received:
    4,171
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    A two-way switch is a two-way switch - however you connect it.
    Two different supplies to one load?

    However that has nothing to do with a two-way or three-way (as it IS called) lighting circuit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,002
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You are wrong. Eric is correct.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,601
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or one supply to two different loads.
     
Loading...

Share This Page