A Few Questions Regarding Solid Wood Flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I' have been reading as many websites as I can find regarding solid wood flooring, but as I have no experience of it, I still have a few unanswered questions. I'm asking them here so that if answered, they can maybe help someone else out and prevent them from asking the same again.

1) If we buy a natural wood floor and oil it, will be be protected from UV? I know oak changes colour as it ages, but don't want the areas of our floor to bleach lighter due to the sun if we oil it.

2) We are looking at colouring our oak floor (when we get it, or have the sellers do it for us) either Castle Grey, or Castle Black - are these two genuine types of oil colour, or a typo? They seem hard to spot online.

3) We like the look of prime natural oak, brushed and oiled in castle black the most (based on Google Image searches etc). I understand that prime has less knots and imperfections in the wood, but what does brushed mean? Does it affect the colour at all?

4) Is it advisable to lay solid wood floor in a kitchen? if the floor is oiled, what happens if certain liquids are spilt on it? hot water. cooking oil, red wine etc?

5) If we buy the thin expansion gap covered to lie on top of the gap, how do these fit around architrave?

6) Why can the thin expansion gap covers be nailed to the floor, up to the skirting board? Doesn't expansion move the gap covered and cause them to press up against the skirting board?

7) In 6 months time, how do you re-oil a wood floor in a room full of furniture? Can you do half-then-half of the room without a join in the treatment showing?

Apologies if some of these questions are factually incorrect / inaccurate - please correct me if I have misunderstood anything.

Thanks for any answers to any of the questions above. I plan to buy a natural oak floor (prime) for my entrance hall (2sqm), lounge (4x4sqm) and kitchen and dining room (5x4sqm).

Sponsored Links