A hole

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been digging the foundation trench for my retaining wall, and I seem to have come across a large pocket of loose agrigate. My soil is heavy clay.

I first noticed it knockling the marking stakes in (shown in red). One just didn't stop going in, and easily pulled out. On further digging, I started lifting out this agrigate. It extends some way under the patio to the side. but I've no idea how much.

What could this be? Builders waste? a soakaway (under where we used to have ponds)? There were a couple of concrete blocks dumped over the top.

And more importantly, what should I do about it? I could dig down a few inches and cover up with clay and lay ontop of it. or douse it with cement and let it harden. Or, do I have to remove it all to make a stable base?

Sponsored Links
Have been thinking about this. There is a drain access cover not far from this gravel. Never seen water in it.

Could the gravel be a soak away from the garage area behind my house where the access covered pipe is an overflow into the sewer?

Just to get the ball rolling as no one else has, if all it is is gravel I'd remove it and refill the void with MOT1 compacted in layers. Often when bad advice is given (like this may well be :oops:) the regulars in the know will correctly advise, hopefully! Or they'll confirm it as good advice. :p

Sponsored Links
Check where your roof drainage points.. as others have said sounds alot like a soakaway..

If its not a huge soft spot (so less than a metre or so) then you can probably bridge it with some reinforcement in the bottom of the footing.. just make sure the ground each side is pretty solid..

I'm going to be laying 2 lengths of rebar in the foundations throughout the entire footing. My house drainage is nowhere near it, however there is a garage block backing onto it that it could be.

Could I use this soak away (if it is indeed one) for drainage of the retaining wall?