AC Isolation Predicament

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I work in the Air Con industry. I have a little predicament regarding isolation. Usually you would connect the DB to the external Compressor unit first then connect From the compressor to the internal fan via a control cable. The lockable isolator is positioned next to the external unit, and when your carrying out maintainance you can isolate and lock it off essential if your working on the inside unit. The regs state that the isolator should be positioned as close to the unit being supplied as possible. Or if isolated remotely a means of locking off is necessary. Im fine with all that.
Some small "Home" AC systems are powered from the CU to the internal unit first and then the internal unit is connected to the external unit by the control cable. sometimes you would connect them from the ring off a fused spur and sometimes you would connect them on a separate circuit. Ok anyway my point is if you put and isolator next to the internal unit and carry out maintainance on the external unit then whats to say someone wont switch it on when your working outside i.e. you cant lock it off. My question is should we install a second 2 isolator outside. Another idea would be to put a lockable isolator next to the outside unit, wire from CU to Isolator then from Isolator to Internal unit, then contol cable from internal to external. The beauty about this is you could isolate for maintenance from the external unit and lock it off safe in the knowledge that both internal and external units are off and locked off. With this scenario there would be no isolator next to the internal unit, and probs here? seeing as thought the regs say the isolator should be as close to the unit being supplied. Would apreciate your thoughts. I know in a home you would usually switch it off at the CU regardless but Im trying to satisfy the regs and sometimes all sence goes out the window.

Sponsored Links