1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Add wireless/Ricochet to Premier 48?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by a546345, 1 Apr 2017.

  1. a546345

    a546345

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a metal box Premier 48 that I installed in 2010 in my house. It is not an Elite.

    The panel is runnning v8.15 firmware. I have 2 PC-COM interfaces connected, which connect to my home automation software, and also Wintex. It all works well.

    I have 4 keypads and 4 expander boxes (8-XP) connected, and I am using 30 zones. I have water leak detectors, and the Texecom 12v smoke detectors connected in which is why so many zones.

    I'd now like to a few wireless devices, smoke detectors and possibly shock detectors.

    Looking to the future, I'd like to connect the panel to my LAN, and possibly change to the 88 zone version to give me the 2nd "Network", more Keypads, and more areas.

    However, to do wireless now I believe I would need to upgrade the firmware to version 9, and then replace one of the expanders with an 8XP-W wireless version. This expander would give me the same 8 hard wired inputs and outputs, but also add the Ricochet capability so I can add the wireless devices.

    Does that sound correct? Are there any other options to consider?

    Cheers!
     
  2. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,934
    Thanks Received:
    373
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wireless expander do not have any wired zone connections,they are wireless only
    Richochet expander are 8 or 32 zone expander
    You will need a elite 168 if you want 2 exp bus lines
    You can use wireless devices on v8.15 firmware,but could have issues with the app connection over lan.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. a546345

    a546345

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks HandymanJo - good catch, I hadn't spotted these expanders are wireless only.

    Can I add the 8 or 32 zone expander to my existing system? I already have 4 8XPs which is the maximum. Or would I have to remove an existing 8XP?
     
  5. a546345

    a546345

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Next question:- The Texecom Ricochet OH-W Wireless Smoke and Heat Detector (GBN-0001) says it is compatible with the Elite panel. Does that mean it is not compatible with my Premier panel?
    Thanks
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Alarm Engineer

    Alarm Engineer

    Joined:
    24 May 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can put a ricochet exp on your panel and enroll any ricochet device to it. The ricochet exp has a legacy mode which means it will work with older non elite panels. To go to 88 for twin network you need to change the panel PCB
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page