Adding a new light to existing switch problem.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am sure this may be answered somewhere in the forum already but I couldn't find it. Apologies if it is. I am a bit of a newb.

I am trying to add a new light pendant to an existing switch. The wiring in the flat all comes from junction boxes. When I add a new light in the conventional method it appears to be splitting the voltage between the two bulbs and causes the energy saving lightbulbs to constantly flicker. What's the way around this? Thanks

Sponsored Links
Which "conventional" method is that?

Whatever it is, you are doing it wrong.

It is unclear what you are trying to do.
Are you adding an additional light to a current light and switch - so that the single switch will now operate two lights together.
If so then you need to link the second ceiling rose by connecting the brown to the line, blue to the neutral and earth to earth on the diagram

Sponsored Links
So you're not connecting the new fitting at the light switch then?

Yes, adding a 2nd light to a current light and switch. I will try your suggestion Riveralt. Cheers

So how were you doing it before?

I really think that it would be greatly in your own best interests if you were to spend a bit of time learning how it all works before attempting to fiddle with it. You've already made a mistake because you didn't know what you were doing. This time the mistake gave you dim/flickering lights, but you are dealing with lethal voltages, and, even with lighting, circuit cables which can deliver more power to make things hot than a single-bar electric fire. Next time you make a mistake you might not be so lucky.

Sorry the method you suggested was one I already did. I think the problem is that only cable I can access is going to original ceiling rose first. So rather than being mains cable direct it has already gone through other light fitting.