Adding further sockets to a spur (in garage)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm currently converting my garage (part integral) into a home gym, which will house a treadmill etc.
There is one socket in there at this time, I've checked, and it doesn't seem to be part of a ring so it looks like it is a spur.
Ideally I would like to put additional sockets in the garage (2 additional) to power the treadmill, stereo etc.
I've had two thoughts on how to achieve this (bear with me as I'm no electrical engineer!!)
1) Use a 1 to 2 or 1 to 3 gang convertor socket, don't know a great deal about these, saw some in B & Q last night.
2) Run an extra spur from the current socket providing a duel point socket.
My concern is that the treadmill will draw a lot of power and I don't want to overload either the current spur or the new spur (if I put one in).
Any ideas/comments will be appreciated

Sponsored Links
With a bit of searching have found that a spur off a spur is definately not a good idea!

You could turn the spur into a double socket, or use a multi-socket adaptor (which will be fused at 13Amp). Look up the power rating of your treadmill. I doubt it will be as high as that, the heaviest loads are electric heaters, so try not to have a powerful one in there. Your radio is insignificant load.

When you say part integral, do you mean is is attached to/overlaps the house? Can you find a socket inside the house on the adjoining wall?

You can change the socket into a FCU and then add sockets after that as it's all protected by the 13amp fuse in the FCU. If this is outside a RCD socket(s) are required but as in garage are not but maybe a good idea.

Or you can extend the ring itself.

Sponsored Links
Hi,
I don't know the power rating of the treadmill yet as I'm deciding which one to buy, can't seem to find any info on the websites.
Wasn't planning on a heater so that should cut down on the rating.