1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice/confirmation for Nest install for Greenstar 30DCi classic boiler with Integral Diverter Value

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Brownjamesa, 5 Dec 2020.

  1. Brownjamesa

    Brownjamesa

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I have read several posts and searched the internet and believe I have now got the correct procedure to install a Nest for my Greenstar 30DCi classic boiler with an Integral Diverter Value with a DT20 timer.

    If I could just get a second opinion, before I proceed it would be really appreciated


    Current setup:
    [​IMG]

    Phase 1: Replace HW Cylinder temp sensor with Honeywell L641A1039

    1. Turn off boiler
    2. Switched off power to boiler
    3. Replace HW cylinder temp sensor with Honeywell L641A1039:
    a. Blue: 1
    b. Brown: C​
    4. Switch on power to boiler
    5. Turn on boiler
    6. Perform a factory reset to allow boiler to recognise cylinder thermostat
    a. Select “spanner” button
    b. Select “eco” and “suitcase” button, until you see “8.A”
    c. Select “eco” button, until you see “8.E”
    d. Select “chimney” button, this will then display “00”
    e. Hold “chimney” button, until the display shows “[ ]”​
    7. Test hot water, by calling for heat and temporally increasing the temp on the HW cylinder

    [​IMG]

    Phase 2: Install Nest thermostat

    1. Turn off boiler
    2. Switched off power to boiler
    3. Looking at the boiler, amend wire configuration as per below:
    a. ST10:Lr – remove wire and move to Nest:T1
    b. ST10:Lr – connect new wire to Nest:3
    c. ST10:Ls – remove wire and move to Nest:T2
    d. ST10:Ls – connect new wire to Nest:2
    e. ST17: remove plug
    f. ST8:7: connect blue wire from HW cylinder cable
    g. ST8:9: connect new wire to Nest:5​
    4. Looking at the Nest Heatlink, amend wire configuration as per below:
    a. Nest:N – connect mains N
    b. Nest:L – connect mains L
    c. Nest:6 – connect brown wire from HW cylinder cable
    d. Nest:E – connect mains E​
    5. Looking at the Nest Heatlink, confirm the wire configuration as per below:
    N: from mains N
    L: from mains L
    1: N/A
    2: from ST10:Lr
    3: from ST10:Ls
    4: N/A
    5: from ST8:9
    6: from L641:C
    OT1: N/A
    OT2: N/A
    Earth: from mains E
    T1: from old room stat (black)
    T2: from old room stat (red)​
    6. Remove DT20 timer from boiler and insert blanking plate
    7. Switch on power to boiler
    8. Turn on boiler
    9. Configure Nest and confirm Heating & Hot Water

    [​IMG]

    Many thanks in advance.

    James
     
    Last edited: 5 Dec 2020
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,764
    Thanks Received:
    2,833
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'd be better off keeping the cylinder sensor. You can wire it in parallel with terminals 4 & 5 on the Heat Link to provide time control of the hot water (DO NOT link the mains Live to 5).

    Your description of the heating side is correct
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,764
    Thanks Received:
    2,833
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Screenshot_20201205-141446_Chrome.jpg
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Brownjamesa

    Brownjamesa

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply Muggles, so you what you are saying is, its not worth adding the HW thermostat and I should just do the following and keep my existing HW compoents?


    1. Turn off boiler
    2. Switched off power to boiler
    3. Looking at the boiler, amend wire configuration as per below:
    a. ST10:Lr – remove wire and move to Nest:T1
    b. ST10:Lr – connect new wire to Nest:3
    c. ST10:Ls – remove wire and move to Nest:T2
    d. ST10:Ls – connect new wire to Nest:2
    e. ST17:brown - connect to new wire to Nest:4
    f. ST17:blue - connect to new wire to Nest:5​
    4. Looking at the Nest Heatlink, amend wire configuration as per below:
    a. Nest:N – connect mains N
    b. Nest:L – connect mains L
    c. Nest:E – connect mains E​
    5. Looking at the Nest Heatlink, confirm the wire configuration as per below:
    N: from mains N
    L: from mains L
    1: N/A
    2: from ST10:Lr
    3: from ST10:Ls
    4: from ST17:brown
    5: from ST17:blue
    6: N/A
    OT1: N/A
    OT2: N/A
    Earth: from mains E
    T1: from old room stat (black)
    T2: from old room stat (red)​
    6. Remove DT20 timer from boiler and insert blanking plate
    7. Switch on power to boiler
    8. Turn on boiler
    9. Configure Nest and confirm Heating & Hot Water

    [​IMG]
     
  6. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,764
    Thanks Received:
    2,833
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, you've got it. You might need to insert a link somewhere to provide continuity once the DT20 is removed, but you'll soon know if it doesn't work without one!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Brownjamesa

    Brownjamesa

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers for your help Muggles (Andrew), i owe you a beer. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,437
    Thanks Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt the boiler will work properly when the nest interrupts the cylinder sensor but you can always reconnect the cylinder stat if that happens.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,764
    Thanks Received:
    2,833
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's wired to the Common & NC terminals on Nest, which creates a short across the NTC wires. The boiler interprets this as the cylinder being satisfied, so it switches over to the heating demand. When Nest calls for hot water, the relay breaks the link between C and NC, allowing the boiler to read the correct resistance of the sensor and thus know the temperature of the cylinder. It'll then heat the cylinder until either the NTC's resistance tells the boiler that the cylinder has reached setpoint, or the timer switches off, restoring the short which the boiler will interpret as cylinder satisfied.

    It's hot water priority, Worcester style
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,437
    Thanks Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on how the boiler interprets no signal from the sensor, be interested to see if it works as intended.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Brownjamesa

    Brownjamesa

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys,

    Just finished installing the Nest and my system boiler is flashing a blue light and displaying the code "Ad"?

    The nest is connected OK and I am calling for heat and the radiators are getting hot.


    Cheers
    James
     
    Last edited: 6 Dec 2020
  13. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,764
    Thanks Received:
    2,833
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You might have discovered a new code there, don't think that's in the book :LOL: is your cylinder heating OK?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. Brownjamesa

    Brownjamesa

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its all sorted now... :)

    As soon as I told the Nest I wanted to control the Hot water, that code went away and the temperature was then displayed on the boiler :D.

    For others that have this issue, I did the following on the Nest dial:

    1. Settings
    2. Equipment
    3. Pro setup
    4. System Boiler
    5. Hot Water, switch to On/Off.
    6. Done.

    Muggles/Andrew... about that beer I owe you, you have two options:

    1. DM your email address and I will send you beer money via PayPal
    2. Tell me a charity of your choice and I will donate.

    Thanks again for all your help, its working as described, when I turn on the call the water, it takes priority like it already did :)

    Cheers
    James


    Edit:

    I did find this on a Google search, which then pointed me to look at the hot water controls:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 6 Dec 2020
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,437
    Thanks Received:
    2,594
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks to muggles and james , this is a good solution for installing smart stats on wb,s.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  16. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    12,764
    Thanks Received:
    2,833
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're obviously better at Googling than I am :ROFLMAO: but glad that it's all working as intended. Send your pennies to https://www.mind.org.uk/ please :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  17. Brownjamesa

    Brownjamesa

    Joined:
    3 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just came back from a walk and the error message has re-appeared :(

    If I turn the hot water on via Nest, the error message goes away and the boiler status is normal.

    If I just have the heating on, the error message appears.

    I can't leave the hot water on all the time, as it takes piority over the heating.

    I am safe to leave the message on the boiler as I know it works or do I need to change the wiring?

    [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Share This Page