Advice for making a bookcase door please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am planning to make a door that looks like a bookcase for my downstairs loo. I'm not an engineer or particularly handy so rather than a full bookcase I want to make something that is light and just looks like a bookcase. I've seen one in a bathroom shop near Guildford called Miscellanea and it looks very effective. My plan is to start with a regular sold pine door and screw some thin ply/ mdf to one side to make it flat. Then I plan to make a frame to fix to that that will be 1 to 2 inches deep and looks like the frame of a bookcase. Then add some 'shelves'. I have been collecting books that either look nice or I have enjoyed reading or have amusing titles, I plan to cut these books(sacrilege I know ) so that I only have the spine plus an inch or two of the book. Then glue all these spines to the mdf tightly packed together. The door will need to open outwards otherwise it will snag on the frame I think.
Any advice or words of warning? When I search the web for making a bookcase door I have only found projects that make a full depth door which is beyond my DIY skills.
Things that I would like help on is - what will be the best way to cut the books? Should I use special hinges? What to use as a handle to pull the door open(a book might get damaged over time)

Sponsored Links
Thank you Richard. I will consider a sliding mitre saw.
Yes I have seen the wallpaper , you can also buy ready made doors, they are both very nice but I want it to have that personal touch

With the weight of all those books, you'll need BIG hinges.

So I'd make the sides quite thick to be able to put big screws into them.

Keep us updated with photos please, sounds like a good idea.

Can you get some plastic ones from Ikea? lol

Sponsored Links