Advice on an Exterior house painting job??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

My house (1920's semi) is in need of a bit of TLC. The exterior boards need painting on the front, side and back and also a side window. A lot of the paint is peeling off and some wood is exposed.

I have a few painters and decorators coming out, but would like to know what kind of questions to ask as I have ZERO experience.

Also, what kind of cost am I looking at for such a job???

Pictures should be attached.

Sponsored Links
It would be really unfair on the guys coming round to quote to give you a guess on price as it is impossible to do so from a few photos.

Talk to the guys and ask them how they'd tackle it, what paint system they'd use?, would they strip off the flaking paint? Access equipment?

Report back on what they say and we may be able to give you some feedback.

Be sure to get at least three quotes, as usually one will be ridiculously cheap (steer clear), one really expensive and hopefully you'll get one thats on the money.

The big temptation for a cowboy will be to throw the paint over the top, all the loose stuff must be stripped and primed before continuing.

Lastly avoid the Polish.

Lastly avoid the Polish.

Absolutely, paint won't stick to polish!! ;) :LOL:

In all seriousness though, dcdec is spot on when it comes to advising on price - there are so many variables and the photos may not paint the whole picture. Some decorators would be willing to work from a ladder, whereas others will insist on scaffolding or some other access platform due to health and safety - this will also affect pricing. The most awkward bit is the gable end where the ?garage? could be a hinderance.