Advice on whole house heating -combi plus UFH

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I've been using this forum for many years now and found it particularly helpful. I'm now facing an interesting challenge and I'm getting a bit of conflicting advice so thought to tap into the diynot community more directly this time.

I currently have a regular boiler with a vented hot water cylinder and a cold water tank in the loft, and radiators serving the whole property. As I'm about to fully renovate the house, I would like to move to a combi boiler as I prefer the on demand capabilities, as well as underfloor heating throughout (no radiators left anywhere).

I have a two storey, ~200m2, 4 bedroom, 2 shower + 1 bath property, but only occupied regularly by two people. So I'm sure a decent combi boiler would suffice. However, for the days when we have visitors, and as a backup just in case, I would also like to keep the vented cylinder in place. However, I'd like to control when it would heat the water.

My overal desired setup would look something like the following:
- Combi boiler to feed all hot water outlets in the house by default
- Underfloor heating throughout the house, also fed by the combi. Note there will be no radiators at all in the house.
- Hot water cylinder to be heated by the combi boiler only when a switch / valve is turned on (so not on a daily basis as it happens currently with the regular boiler)
- Bathtub and second shower to have two hot water inputs, one from the combi by default, the other from the hot water tank; which one to choose to be controlled by a relevant valve in the bath and shower.
- The hot water cylinder will eventually also be heated by solar thermal water

I'm attaching a diagram of how I imagine this would look like.

House heating diagram.jpg

Some questions I have:
- is the above setup actually feasible? Especially with regards to the combi heating the cylinder