After Fitting New Ceiling Light Other lights Dim & Flick

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Help, electrical novice here !
I have just wired in a new light upsatirs which works fine.

Only problem is since I wired in this light all the other lights upstairs are very dim and flicker a bit, cue nervous laughter !

When connecting the light I wired the black live to the brown of the light, two other blacks to the blue wire and earth to earth. the three red wires from the ceiling, I isolated in a block of their own.

Is this correct or is it the root of my dim light problem ??

Please help !!!

Sponsored Links
Your wiring is correct, always assuming that the old rose was wired correctly to start with! You most likely have a bad connection in there. It will either be in the choc block or the neutral terminal but check them all. Look for blackened wires and melted insulation.

If you dare, leave the cover off, stand well back and put the power back on. Switch on your other lights and you might see sparks coming from the bad joint. Don't forget to switch off again before you fix it!

Thanks for your reply I shall try this when I get home tonight !

I've turned the mains off so I have got a home to go to tonight just to be safe. ;)

Crumbs, that was a quick turn around. This is like being on ICQ! Turning off the mains was a wise move. Bad connections can start fires. You sound like one of those peolple who can work around a live terminal because a little bit of your brain is constantly aware of its existence. Ever thought of fixing particle accelerators for a living?

Sponsored Links
just common sense too me !!
as for particle accelerators....I say just add a teaspoon of salt & sugar and stir well. I prefer hundreds and thousands though.

But you can have a lot more fun stirring helium ions. I think we're getting a bit off topic here. Time to quit before the moderators kick us off. Good luck with those bad joints.