Air in system, hissing noise from boiler/pump

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Bit of a long story this and I am still learning my way around heating systems, so my apologies if I don't specify enough info or get my details slightly muddled.

System details: Open vented, with a Potterton Prima 60F in the kitchen, F&E tank in the loft, a recently-installed Grundfos 15/50 pump, Sunvic 2-port valves on each circuit, and a Danfoss FP715 controlling everything. All 10 radiators except the highest-placed (in the upstairs bathroom) have TRVs. Hot water is heated via a cylinder in the airing cupboard. Auto air-bleeders are placed just after the pump and on the return side of the water cylinder. With the exception of the new pump, the system is as we found it when we bought the house four years ago.

For years air has been finding its way into the highest-placed radiator whenever the CH is on, and though we've dutifully bled this radiator periodically, we've never found the time or inclination to get it looked at.

In late December the old pump (a BG Multihead III) started making noises akin to a hammer drill hitting brick, and clearly was on its last legs - though to be fair, it had always been noisy. Following a lot of research on this forum I took the initiative and ran some Fernox F3 through the system for a week, then flushed it out. Whilst the system was drained I fitted a new Grundfos 15/50 pump and replaced the ball valves that were either side of it, then added a dose of F1 inhibitor when refilling the system.

A fortnight has passed and the Fernox treatment + new pump has clearly made a difference. Radiators heat-up quicker than ever before (even on the lowest pump speed) and the house seems warmer overall. I've noted no problems with the hot water either.