Air tool fittings

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have an air compressor which I have been using for tyre inflation for a couple of years. I just recently bought an impact wrench to use with it and have decided to use some quick release fittings for both this and my tyre inflater. My first question is does the quick release mechanism attach to my air hose then the quick release "plugs" go onto the tools or is it the other way around?
My next question is, is it ok to attach a quick release coupling directly to the impact wrench? Someone told me I should put a short section of air hose between the rattle gun and the quick release coupling (something to do with vibrations).

Sponsored Links
hi, on all tools ive seen the male end is on the tool and the female quick release end is on the hose ot compressor

hope this helps :)

The quick release female collars go on to the hose, not the tool.
and the male connectors on to the tool.
Not sure about the vibration, we have all our are tools fitted with the male stud, straight to it. That is how the tools arrive, so I presume that is how it should be.
But willing to hear others opinions and thoughts.

Thanks, thats what I thought about the male/female parts of the quick release coupling. On doing more research the short section of air hose I was talking about it referred to as a whip hose.

Sponsored Links
mini oiler is a good idea
APOWERLARGE22317_4255.jpg

never bother with a whip hose

Just a few tips, hopefully....
Use a hose with the biggest internal diameter possible to drive windy guns; (10 mm)
Don't use Machine Mart hose (perishes within a year);
Don't bother with a whip hose;
Oil the tools regularly. (I found an in line oiler would empty in minutes, so I just squirt some air line oil in through the tool air inlet).
John :)