Airing cupboard shelves

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I'm building some slatted airing cupboard shelves as a diy project. Total noob skill level.

I've ordered the timber. Tulipwood, 44mm x 44mm for batons. 92mm x 24mm for slats. Shelves will be ~900mm deep, 8 slats per shelf. Width of shelf 820mm. There will be 4 shelves in the cupboard.

What would people recommend for fixing the slats to batons? I was thinking screws but that would be a lot of pilot holes drilled and screwing! I don't own a nail gun either and don't know much about what type I'd need if I wanted to save all that hammering!

Thanks
Stu

Sponsored Links
4 shelves x 8 batons per shelf = 64 screws.

With a cordless drill/screwdriver it won't take long. If you haven't got one then it's worthwhile investing in one. Will save a lot of hard work for other projects.

Set your supports around the walls at the height you want them. Cut your slats to length, (allowing 2 - 3mm gap at each end to allow for wall run out).
Lay your slats flat on a bench/table all close next to each other and with the ends all level, (use a straight edge/batten to push them up against to make sure they are level). With a scrap piece of support, lay it on edge flush with the ends on top of the slats and draw a light pencil line across all the slats.
Do the same at the other end. You can either gauge where the centres of those rectangles are or lightly draw diagonals in to bisect at the centre.
If using 4mm screws drill a 4.5/4.8 clearance hole through each one at both ends. (45mm should be a suitable length).
Not sure, (without working it out), what the gap will be between the slats but get/make up a length of wood of the right thickness to sit across the supports and act as a spacer.
Position and screw down your first slat then place your spacer next to it. Place your next slat into place against the spacer and screw down. Repeat for each slat on each shelf.