Alarm Panel and PIR Recommendations

R

roberta1000

Finally getting around to fitting an intruder alarm in my new old house. I'm not a pro at this but as a sparkie these last 45 years or so I think I'll manage OK. I'd like any recommendations for a good quality panel suitable for a 4-bed bungalow/bath/toilet/utility/conservatory. (Actual model as well as make please). Since the wiring is easy I'm thinking of a PIR in each room, door contacts and a remote panel front and back. Also any recs for PIRs? I have a cat which would ideally have the run of the house.

Sponsored Links
just doors itis then.

cats by nature will jump (sooner rather than later) to have a cat and a worry free alarm have doors only

i guess the cats are locked ina certain area pir other areas.

I have a cat which would ideally have the run of the house.

lcoking it in a room is the best bet, but i have seen it wheere owner in a rush, cant find cat, guess what happens next.............

Sponsored Links
you can get pet friendly pir`s now so cats will be ok.
Thats the biggest load of bull i have ever heard.

next you will be saying you think they will not detect a pet under say 30 lbs in weight

think about it.

A PIR can only see infra red heat. It cant tell how much something weighs.
That aside how do you suppose they work then?

All a maker can do is alter the angle a PIR looks at, / add pulse count

Most "pet PIR'S" will tell you to mount it at a specific height

why?

Its because they can not see below a specific angle, unlike an ordainairy PIR

Pet comes into the room and walks round fine, nothing happens because pet in under the view of PIR

How ever a cat can and will jump when it does, say onto the back of a sofa, it is now in view of the PIR and the alarm goes off.

Now tell me you can get a pet friendly PIR that is reliable

Pet friendly PIRs are the biggest joke going, they are unreliable becuse you can't tell a pet where not to go.