Anchoring a Double Carport

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Im thinking of buying a flat-packed double carport (approx. 5m x 6m), something like this: http://www.tuin.co.uk/Double-Carport-6.0-x-5.0m.html

I need some advice on the best way to anchor such a structure to the ground. I would be installing it as a standalone structure onto a block paving driveway. Would it be better to concrete the upright posts directly into the ground, or use anchors of some sort? And if anchors, which sort considering it will be on block paving, and not a concrete slab.

To be honest I like the idea of anchors. They seem to be more commonly used on carports, and they would keep the posts above ground, and help prevent wood rotting in the future, but I don't have any experience with them. Something just tells me the structure wouldn't be as sturdy as cementing the posts straight in the ground (although I could be wrong....).

I have some experience installing fencing, but have always concreted the posts straight in the ground. Building a carport is something new to me, so any advice is grateful.

Thanks,
Tim

Sponsored Links
keeping the posts away from the ground will protect them from rot. There will still be rainsplash and damp, so stand the bottom of the posts in a tub of spirit-based wood preserver before the build (also the tops if there is any chance rain can get into the end grain)

I stapled DPC along all the upward-facing timbers on mine to keep the rain off before the roof went on. Also to protect the end beams and ledger as rain will find a way.

I cast concrete pads standing 4" above the ground with the steel post holders bolted down, easier to remove if necessary, but concrete spurs are also good. You can paint the concrete or steel dark brown to blend in with the woodwork if you like. I bought stainless bolts and nuts for mine for longevity. A bit of formwork above the ground makes the pads look smaller and neater.