Another humidistat extractor fan question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I realise there was a similar question earlier this week but my problem is slightly different. I'm not an expert/electrician so go easy on me if I say something stupid!

I have an Xpelair C6HTS humidistat+timer fan which replaced a simple on/off pull switch operated fan (not connected to the bathroom light). The new one is supposed to come on when humidity rises above a certain level, then once below that threshold it runs on a timer for e.g. 30 more seconds.

The problem we are having is that once the fan is activated it does not stop. We left it all night last night with the humidistat unplugged and it went until the morning. When we reset it at the fuse box, it finally stopped, presumably until triggered again by the humidistat (once plugged back in).

Tech support are saying it requires a 3-core and that's why it isn't stopping. There's only a live and neutral there. Are they right? I thought having a 3-core would just allow us to put a switch on it too. We're happy for it to work just on the humidistat without a switch if possible.

Is there any way around this? Trying to avoid running a new wire in as the two that are there go into the room next door (or possibly the loft) rather than off the bathroom light circuit.

Sponsored Links
If you wire the L & N to the correct terminals - Permanent Live and Neutral - leaving the Switched Live/Timer terminal empty, it should work on just the humidistat.

If you connect the PL wire to SL terminal and leave PL terminal empty, it shouldn't come on at all.
If you connect the PL wire to SL and PL, it will run for ever.

So, what you say shouldn't happen.

You are right about 3core and Switch.