Any experience with SIPS??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m in the early planning stages of a single storey rear extension on my 3 bed semi. I’m going to be self building, pretty much from the ground up. It’s going to be the full width of the house, so about 6m and 4m out so within permitted development hopefully.

My main hurdle before I get architects/engineers involved is to get the plan straight in my head. I’m fine with a traditional block and brick build, but I can’t seem to shake off the idea of SIPS. Other than internet research and some YouTube vids, I have no practical experience with them. Can anyone advise on what foundations they require? My ground is firm clay, and there is a sewer running under where the extension will sit, which I will be getting buildover permission for. The appeal of potentially no traditional footings and speedy erection (ooo err) is massive! Also, the ubiquitous bi-fold doors will be required, so do they require steelwork above, or just a heavy duty lintel?

Any advice/constructive criticism appreciated

Sponsored Links
The footings are determined by the ground not the structure. So same as whatever would be used for masonry walls.

Whether the doors are top or bottom hung will dictate the type and performance of the support above them.

My main hurdle before I get architects/engineers involved is to get the plan straight in my head. I’m fine with a traditional block and brick build, but I can’t seem to shake off the idea of SIPS. Other than internet research and some YouTube vids, I have no practical experience with them. Can anyone advise on what foundations they require

SIPs would be expensive for a small extension, if you want that sort of construction go for timber frame.

Foundations for your extension will be the same whatever you put on it. To expand on what Woody has said: it is mostly ground stability that determines foundation spec rather than weight of structure.