Apprentice Pay

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone this is my first time writing and just a simple question really, what do you reccomend to pay an apprentice weekly? please get back to me if you can . dave

Sponsored Links
You have to pay him at least minimum wage £5.50 an hr. If he is worth keeping, then you have to make it more. :D

£600 to £800 a week. Where are you, I'll send you a job application.

Sponsored Links
Jib rates from the 1st Jan 2007.

1st year of training £4.82
2nd year of training £5.52
3rd year £6.24
3rd year with NVQ level 2 £7.58
4th year £7.68
4th year with NVQ level 2 £8.71
4th year with NVQ level 3 £9.62

Plus tool allances etc

doitall said:

3rd year £6.24
4th year £7.68

Plus tool allances etc

It would be an interesting fact to know how many self employed can afford to employ an apprentice. At various times of the year I get a slew of letters asking if I can take them on. I just could not afford to take someone on full time as the amount of work can be so unpredictable.

I employed an apprentice for about 7 months and even though his training was paid for via funding I could not justify keeping him on cost wise.

I firmly believe that a one man band cannot afford any trainee and that you need to have at least 3 trained workers before it would not be a drain on resources.

htgeng said:
doitall said:

3rd year £6.24
4th year £7.68

Plus tool allances etc

It would be an interesting fact to know how many self employed can afford to employ an apprentice. At various times of the year I get a slew of letters asking if I can take them on. I just could not afford to take someone on full time as the amount of work can be so unpredictable.
You get allowances and grants are available son contact local college for advice .Not enough people coming into the trade as apprentices every one should try and make an effort.

.Not enough people coming into the trade as apprentices every one should try and make an effort.