EXISTING GAS ENGINEERS! ACS Preparation Help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone!
From the time I've been on here, it appears we have some very experienced gas engineers;

I've got my ACS (First time :confused: ) coming up in about 6 weeks. I've been an apprentice for a year and as you can imagine I've had to learn a lot inc appliances, system fault finding, combi fault finding etc;

Have you got any tips for ACS? Also, if anyone has any websites they could recommend, it would be most appreciated;

Regards

Sponsored Links
My corgi book was a waste of time as they used the VIPER book @ the center I was @ !!

Best advice I can give you is dont be cocky and dont act like your a know it all ;)

They do help you and as far as I know its all open book !!

I've got my renewal in 6 weeks, its not the most pleasant experience even though i find it fairly easy to be honest.

Its all about preperation. (as the old saying goes "fail to prepare, prepare to fail").

By asking on here you sound like someone who is trying to prepare well.

You will be fine ;)

For the written tests you need to be going in there knowing as much as possible without having to look up the answers. Read your books every bit of spare time you have.

In the practical if you can show the assessor early on that you are on the ball and know your stuff then he is likely to leave you alone and be concentrating on the strugglers.

If you are a "struggler" it will be a bit more intense.

There used to be a website that had acs questions on it but it doesn't seem to be working anymore.

www.naturalgasonline.co.uk

here is another with info on acs

http://www.geocities.com/thegasplace/

Good Luck.

ps. ChrisR will give you some advise (he is an acs assessor)

Sponsored Links
I renewed for the 3rd time bout 3 weeks ago and didnt get 1 question wrong :D

You get 3 chances ;)

Its all about preperation. (as the old saying goes "fail to prepare, prepare to fail").