Are we keeping a list of LABCs who don't understand Part P?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have noticed in many posts here, people taking note of LABCs who either don't understand Part P responsibilities or try to get the householder to foot the bill.

I have one more to add to the list of those who don't quite get the point. Central Bedfordshire have instructed me:

Please ensure you can issue a BS7671 electrical certificate at completion.

I have responded nicely... as a former engineer I have seen what happens when one pees off a review panel prior to a design review!

Many thanks for your response.

I am not a member of an accredited scheme that would allow me to issue BS7671 certificates, hence my need to make an application to Building Control to ensure my installation does not fall foul of legislation.

With regards to Paras 1.24 - 1.28 of Part P of the Building Regulations, is a Building Notice sufficient?

I thought it would be better to list the paragraphs in order to get them to actually READ the legislation.

At £210+VAT they seem to be near the cheaper end of the spectrum, so perhaps their idea that householders pay for the inspection is driving things down! :LOL:

Sponsored Links
You can certificate your work to BS7671 if you are competant...

Yes, but I think that Donk's point is that the LABC should be doing the testing as part of their £210+the dreaded.

You can certificate your work to BS7671 if you are competant...

Well, I'm competent, but unfortunately I'm not "competent". ;)

In other words, I am legally competent to design and install, but I am not certified with a BS7671 scheme, so I can't legitimately test and certify to BS7671. And it's that certification you need before you can energise the electrics that have been installed. So it's all a bit academic without it.