ARGHHHHHHH bloody curtain rail - can't hang it up

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a complete DIY novice and I'm having issues with my living room curtain rail.

The window is about 2 metres in width, and I have a curtain rail to hang and long curtains to install on to it.

My dad helped when he visisted by drilling it into the wall. We could only drill about 2 inches into the wall, and then hit metal so can't go any f urther. We hung it. It looked great, then the next day fell down.

I eventually bought a 2.5 metre piece of wood. I drilled holes into it, about 8 of them evenly spaced along it.

I drilled the wood into the wall as far as it would go and then screwed the curtain rail into the wood and it seemed very strong. About 2 hours later though ti again fell out and took a bit of plaster with it - only a bit. The wall seems fine, not crumbly or anything so I don't know what else to do.

Additionally, the wall is a bit wonky, as in you put the wood against it, and it sits nicely on it, but in the central part there is a small gap as the wall curves outwards, don't think this would cause any major issue.

I'm stuck now, fed up and ****ed off. I just wanna hang up my curtains and seems so stupid that I can't.

Any ideas?!

Sponsored Links
Are you using rawlplugs or screwing directly into the wall surface? Have you drilled the holes the appropriate size for the rawlplugs?

Assuming you've drilled 2 inches are you using 2 inch screws (or longer when you added the piece of wood)?

Do you know whether you're drilling through plaster/render or into brick?

Are you sure that you hit metal after 2 inches? If so, I would be worried about what you struck - was it a buried pipe that could be damaged?? Or was an unsuitable drill/drill bit being used and you've hit the brick?