balancing radiators

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I have recently had a new combi(baxi duotech and rads fitted. I was waiting on planning for a conservatory, so have only had that rad put on a couple of days ago. When i turned the valves and let it heat up it is wayyyyyyy cooler than the rest. I have started turning them all down, and leaving the new one fully open, but although its pretty hot at the top, its still cool at the bottom, and still not as hot as the others. I dont really know how low i should, or can turn the others.........total novice!
Also, do i leave the right hand valve fully open on all the rads??

Advice please guys

Sponsored Links
It may be worth turning off the lockshields on all but the conservatory rad and running for a few minutes to check you don't have an airlock.

I will try that now.......but like i say im a total novice. If there is an air lock, how will i know, and what will i do. Also just to harp back on about my 1st point, how far down can you turm the lockshields? i recon they were almost fully open, an di recon now i have maybe turned them down by one quater? with the new 1 fully open. It is definatly a lot hotter now, but still cooler at the bottom?

cheers!

Sponsored Links
If there is an air lock, how will i know, and what will i do.

If you do as suggested above and force all the flow through one rad, and it gets as warm as it should, you will at least know the pipework is good. If you're able to balance the system correctly after having done this, it was probably an airlock. Putting all the flow through the affected section of pipework is often enough to force out any air that shouldn't be there.

Also just to harp back on about my 1st point, how far down can you turm the lockshields? i recon they were almost fully open, an di recon now i have maybe turned them down by one quater? with the new 1 fully open. It is definatly a lot hotter now, but still cooler at the bottom?