Band room Wiring? - shed

S

skyrat1991

Hi there everyone. i'm very new to this site but i was just wondering if any electricians could help me.
I have a shed that i'm using as a band practice room and it has been getting on fine with its cabling, which is basically a long extension with a mains socket stuck on the end. The only loads it has had to deal with is 2 amps- Speaker lol, a 3 amp light and an ipod dock, but in the next couple of weeks we are going to be extending the shed from 8x6 to 8x14. Well be getting new electrically equipment which will include a fridge, a strip light, a kettle and the original stuff. I'm not a electrician (yet) so i have no idea if the 2 socket 13 amp extension will be able to take the strain.
Can anyone tell me if it will be able to cope or will i have to rewire it.
Thanks for any help you can give :D

Sponsored Links
The kettle alone is likely to be between 2.5-3kW, so that's the entire capacity of the extension lead gone already. Besides, it's hardly a proper solution for a permanent electrical supply to an outbuilding even with small loads...

hmmm guess I'll forget the kettle lol. the extension that runs to it I practically made myself. its a grey high capacity cable with a 2 way socket in the shed and at the other end is a 13 amp plug, plugged into a wall socket in my garage. its been like that for a year now and I've never had any problems. I know it isn't textbook, but it works. and I know I'll never be an electrician with that attitude lol.
I'm not sure what else i can do to make it better though. there's no way I can afford to get a professional in. Whatever I do has to be safe, but most importantly CHEAP!

I know it isn't textbook, but it works. and I know I'll never be an electrician with that attitude lol.
I'm not sure what else i can do to make it better though. there's no way I can afford to get a professional in. Whatever I do has to be safe, but most importantly CHEAP!