Bathroom paint flaking - do I need to remove it all?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The upper walls in my bathroom are painted with bathroom paint which we intended to paint over. However, as the walls were a bit rough I decided to sand them down first which has led to the paint flaking off big time. It looks like there was just one coat of paint immediately over the plaster. Do I need to remove ALL the paint before I can repaint and if so, is there an easier way than sanding. Also, do I need to do anything to the plaster before putting on new bathroom paint. I am a total novice at all this and any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Do I need to remove ALL the paint

Impossible to say without seeing.. But basicly scrape off all loose paint and either sand edges smooth or, use easifill to hide the broken edges. Then thin down some emulsion and coat up the bare plaster. Then use either dulux quick drying eggshell or any decent matt emulsion and give two coats. The kitchen/ batroom paint is not good.

Don't know who started this rubbish about kitchen/bathroom paint being unsuitable for bathrooms - it's just plain silly.

Don't know who started this rubbish about kitchen/bathroom paint being unsuitable for bathrooms - it's just plain silly.
Its unsuitable anywhere! I found that out decades ago. :LOL:

Sponsored Links
You simply don't understand the materials you are using. Bet you haven't used them in decades. It simply has more vinyl to make it tougher and more waterproof.

You simply don't understand the materials you are using. Bet you haven't used them in decades. It simply has more vinyl to make it tougher and more waterproof.
:rolleyes: