Bathroom project =) (with pics)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

This week I've been busy with my bathroom project, I have never done anything this complex before so I am coming across my very first attempt to plumb, chase walls and also plastering =/,

Everything has been flowing smoothly without any major incidents.

1. I am fitting a recessed shower which my wife and myself loved, after chasing the walls I've ended up with something that looks challenging to plaster to someone so inexperienced like me, I would like to ask your advice in terms of plaster board over all the work and old wall. I am planning to skim over the plaster board and tile, the only problem is that I have got a small room of approx. 2cm depth for the studs\plasterboard\tiles as anything deeper than this will be too deep for the knobs of the shower. What option would you think is the best for this case?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9STZX2VahZ3V1ZYUXV5WmtyYVk/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9STZX2VahZ3N0Npc21uLXY2dmM/view?usp=sharing

2. After removing the old tiles I ended up with a not very nice looking wall, so I removed most of the old plaster (that I could manage) and re-plastered over the top with one coat plaster and multi finish plaster, although it doesn't look "bad" the end result is a bit "wave" and I fear that the new tiles won't set lay straight, is there anything you would recommend me to do so I can ovecome this problem?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9STZX2VahZ3WEMxR3NWR3ZjVVE/view?usp=sharing

3. Another wall that does not look great is the one where the previous cistern and basin was, when I removed them part of the plaster came off with it and I am now left with this ugly wall, for the best finish would it be better to plaster over brick or plaster board the patches?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9STZX2VahZ3SjBzSTE4MXFDVFU/view?usp=sharing

Thank you all =)

Last edited:
Sponsored Links