Baxi 105e calling for dhw with no actual demand

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have a Baxi 105e and it appears to be calling for hot water most of the time even though there are no taps open.

What happens is the green tap light illuminates and the pump runs though the burner is not activated. The radiator in one of the bedrooms is absolutely roasting as well even though CH is not required.

If i turn off the boiler for 30 seconds and turn it back on again the unit reverts to normal however within a few days its back to how it was.

I suspected a faulty pcb which i have renewed however the fault is still there. I have read on this forum about the elusive sticky pin on the diverter valve diaphragm!! Could this be the cause and if so wouldn't the burner be firing all the time or would it be held off by the thermostat on the DHW?? If it is the pin whats the fix?? I'm an electrician by trade so go easy on me mechanical comrades.

Many thanks in advance.

Paul McGrath

Sponsored Links
suspected a faulty pcb which i have renewed however the fault is still there. I have read on this forum about the elusive sticky pin on the diverter valve diaphragm!! Could this be the cause and if so wouldn't the burner be firing all the time or would it be held off by the thermostat on the DHW?? If it is the pin whats the fix?? I'm an electrician by trade so go easy on me mechanical comrades.
The most common cause of no hot water is the large diaphragm.That does not seem right in your case. Divertor valve probs more likely,as you say..Either new valve,or take to bits and fit the kit you can buy.Could be other things though,You might have put more faults on,depending on where you purchased the pcb.They are good boilers,worth repairing

Trying to figure out why op has a roasting hot rad but says boiler not firing! :confused::)

It suggested to me your preheat is active (turned on) and diverter is stuck sending the heated water through your bedroom rad.

Sponsored Links